The name Maheshwar comes from Mahesh, a name for Lord Shiva. The word Maheshwar in Hindi means abode of Lord Mahesh. Maheshwar town is built on the site of the ancient city of Somvanshya Shastrarjun Kshatriya, and was the capital of king Kartavirya Arjuna, (Shree Shastrarjun) who is mentioned in the Sanskrit epics Mahabharata and Ramayana. Maheshwar was known as Mahissati (Mahishamati in Sanskrit) in ancient times and was the capital of Southern Avanti.

Maheshwar has been a centre of handloom weaving since the 5th century. Maheshwar is the home of one of India's finest hand loom fabric traditions. Maheshwar is noted as a centre for weaving colourful Maheshwari saris. These cotton saris are weaved with distinctive designs involving stripes, checks and floral borders. The hand looms also make fabric material used for making kurtas and other clothings.

In the late eighteenth century, Maheshwar served as the capital of Rajmata Ahilya Devi Holkar, ruler of the state of Indore. She embellished the city with many buildings and public works, and it is home to her palace, as well as numerous temples, a fort, and riverfront ghats (broad stone steps which step down to the river).

Omkareshwar (Hindi: ओंकारेश्वर) is a Hindu temple dedicated to God Shiva. It is one of the 12 revered Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva. It is on an island called Mandhata or Shivapuri in the Narmada river; the shape of the island is said to be like the Hindu  symbol. There are two temples here, one to Omkareshwar (whose name means "Lord of Omkaara or the Lord of the Om Sound") and one to Amareshwar (whose name means "Immortal lord" or "lord of the Immortals or Devas"). But as per the sloka on dwadash jyotirligam, Mamleshwar is the jyotirling, which is on other side of Narmada river.
Dhuni Wale Dadaji

Khandwa is a place in Madhya Pradesh state of India, where hundreds of devotees come everyday to get darshan of Shree Dadaji's samadhi.

Shree Dadaji Dhuniwale (Bade Dadaji) took samadhi in Khandwa in 1930. No one knows how Dadaji incarnated on this planet.

Swami Revanad (One of the disciples of Dadaji) has written in his book that Dadaji incarnated in Saikheda, a village in Madhya Pradesh. He was first noticed by Shree Gaurishankar Maharaj. Later Gaurishankarji accepted him as his disciple and named as Madhav. To know more about Shree Dadaji please visit his sacred place - Khandwa.

Navgrah Mandir, Khargone
Navgraha Mandir,(The Temple of Nine Planets) which is known to be more than 600 years old is situated in Kargon Town. The foundation of this temple is laid down approximately 600 years back by the ascendants (Shree Sheshappa Sukhawadhani Weragkar) of the present temple incharge and his family members. Khargon Town is one of the fast growing Districts of Madhya Pradesh ( India ).
Khargone is a historical religious place which is also known as “Navgraha Ki Nagri” – Town of Nine Planets. In the whole of India, this temple, Navgraha Mandir, is one of its own kind. This temple is situated very close to Kunda River.
First Floor of the temple has got the Idols of Goddess Saraswati, Paanchmukhi Mahadev and Shri Ram Panchayatan, in which Hanuman,Laxman, Bharat, Shaturghana are present along with Lord Ram and Goddess Sita.
Garbhagriha Sthali which means the interior of the sanctum sanctorum, the innermost sanctum of a Hindu Temple where the primary idol/murti of the temple resides, consists of Suryanarayana and Surya Yantra. Parikrama Sthali of the temple consists of all the planets named Moon (Chandra), Mangal, Budh, Guru, Shukra , Shani, Rahu and Ketu along with their Vahans, Madals and Yantras.
Goddess Baglamukhi and Brahmastra resides in Pitambara Graha Shanti Peeth. On the festival of Makar Sankranti, the special Surya Darshan pooja, Aaradhana and rituals are done for the pacification of all the nine planets which is also known as Navgraha Shanti.
In the Months of January and February, the very famous Navgraha Mela ( Fair of Nine Planets ) is organized in a big scale and the believers from across the country visits the place for the appeasement of nine planets (Vavgraha Shanti ) and Shani Dosha Nivaran ( appeasement of Shani ).
Khargon is a town in West Nimar district in the southwest of Madhya Pradesh, central India, just east of the Kundi River. It attained considerable importance under the Mughals and now contains an old fort with several tombs and palaces. Khargon contains a historical temple “Navgraha Mandir” which is famous across the country for Navgraha Shanti Pooja and Aaradhana.
As the Goddess Baglamukhi resides here, this place is also known as “Peetambara Graha Shanti Peeth” because at this temple for the appeasement of planets, the pooja and Aaradhana of Goddess Baglamukhi is done.
Mahalaxmi Mandir, Oon
This temple is situated 15km far from Khargone. There are 99 temples in this town and all these temples are made of stones. It is believed that the anybody who wish of something is fullfilled after coming here.

Other places to visit:
  • Lalbai, Phulbai temple, Segaon
  • Sagur Bhagur
  • Nangalwadi
  • Meharja